AACN News—August 2000—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 17, No. 8, AUGUST 2000

Members on the Move

Jacqueline M. McGrath, RN, PhD, CCNS, NNP, has accepted a position as program director for the Neonatal Nurse Practitioner track at Arizona State University College of Nursing, Tempe. This new program has been funded for $569,000 by the Division of Health and Human Services for three years.

Terri Crowder, RN, BSN, CCRN, and Chris Ladoksy, RN, CCRN, have been promoted to team leader positions in the medical ICU at Mary Washington Hospital, Fredericksburg, Va.

Rika M. Felonia, RN, BSN, has been promoted to director of education at Lake Mead Hospital Medical Center, North Las Vegas, Nev. She has worked in the ICU for the past eight years.

June Howland-Gradman, RN, MS, MBA, received her her master’s of business administration degree from Keller Graduate School of Management, Chicago, Ill. She is a past treasurer of AACN and a former member of the AACN Certification Corporation Board of Directors.

Pauline McGlashan, RN, MSN, CCRN, graduated from Barry University School of Nursing, Miami Shores, Fla., after completing the MSN-ARNP family care program. She was inducted into Sigma Theta Tau.

James D. Forrest, RN, BSN, received his bachelor of science in nursing degree from Mississippi University for Women, Columbus, Miss. In addition, Forrest, along with four other nurses, received the Baccalaureate Student Research Oral Presentation Award from the Zeta Rho Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau.

Sharon Melvin, RN, BSN, CCRN, received her bachelor of science in nursing degree from the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque. She was inducted into the Gamma Sigma Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau.

Debra Siela, RN, MN, DNSc, CCNS, CCRN, CS, RRT, received her doctor of science in nursing degree from Rush University, Chicago, Ill. She teaches at Ball State University, in Muncie, Ind.

Sonja D. Brune, RN, MSN, CCRN, CEN, CCNS, received her master of science in nursing degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, Texas. She is a clinical nurse specialist who works as an advanced practice nurse at a private practice cardiology group in San Antonio. In addition, she is a member of Sigma Theta Tau and is chairperson of the American Heart Association Cardiovascular Nursing Committee in San Antonio.

Mary M. Canobbio, RN, MN, FAAN, was the author of the 7th edition of Patient Care Standards, as well as the 2nd edition of the Handbook of Patient Teaching. Both books are published by the Mosby Co., St. Louis, Mo.

Maureen Shawn Kennedy, RN, MA, was coauthor with Thelma M. Schorr, RN, BSN, FAAN, of 100 Years of American Nursing: Celebrating a Century of Caring, published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Diane Mick, RN, PhD, CCNS, has been appointed editor of the Critical Care Nursing Department for the American Thoracic Society’s online journal club. She also was recently awarded $16,000 from the University of Pittsburgh Central Research Development Fund for a study titled “Response Shift in Aged Survivors of Critical Illness.” This competitive grant was awarded by the University of Pittsburgh Central Research Development Fund.

Frank L. Cole, RN, PhD, CEN, CS, FNP, received the National Nurse Practitioner Outstanding Faculty Award for 2000 from the Nurse Practitioner Associates in Continuing Education in recognition of his efforts in education for emergency nurse practitioners, including developing the emergency nurse practitioner program at the University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston. Cole is associate professor of nursing, head of the emergency care division and director of emergency nurse practitioner education at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Nursing.

Dee Ann Day, RN, MSN, CCRN, CNS, ANP-S, was honored as the Metroversity Faculty of the Year for 2000 at Spalding University, Louisville, Ky. She was also nominated for the National League of Nursing Nurse of the Year. In addition, Day received the 2000 Kentucky Coalition of Nurse Practitioners & Midwives student scholarship and was the recipient of the Sigma Theta Tau Nursing Leadership Award.

Exemplifying the Value of Dignity
The critical care team at Mercy Hospital, Bakersfield, Calif., was selected to receive the 2000 Values in Action award for the Catholic Healthcare West Central California Region. This year’s award focused on the core value of dignity. Members of the team included staff from Mercy Hospital’s ICU and direct observation unit. In addition to nurses, the team is comprised of physicians and support staff providing auxiliary services.

Your Feedback