AACN News—May 2000—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 17, No. 5, MAY 2000

In the Spotlight

Diane Ogren, RN, BS, CCRN, was recently featured in an article in the Sun Sentinel newspaper in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., about nursing by telephone. Ogren works for COR Solutions, which has contracts with managed care companies to monitor and advise patients with serious heart conditions. Ogren explained that the goal of her job is to help patients avoid hospitalization. Via the phone, she teaches patients how to manage their symptoms and medications and encourages them to follow the advice of their physicians.

Members on the Move

Kathleen Dracup, RN, DNSc, FNP, has been appointed dean of the School of Nursing at the University of California, San Francisco. Dracup is co-editor of the American Journal of Critical Care.

Barbara A. Gill, RN, MN, has been appointed to a six-year term on a newly created Texas Board of Health council to address cardiovascular disease and stroke issues. The council was created by the Texas Legislature to develop a statewide plan to reduce the incidences of cardiovascular disease and stroke, and to develop a database of recommendations for appropriate care and treatment. Gill, immediate past chair of the AACN Certification Corporation Board of Directors, is a clinical nurse specialist at Abilene Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery and teaches at Angelo State University.

Maria O’Neill, RN, MA, CCRN, has accepted a position as critical care educator in the Department of Staff/Management Education at New York Methodist Hospital, Park Slope Brooklyn, N.Y. In addition, she completed her master of arts in nursing education degree at New York University and was accepted for membership in the Rho Chapter of Pi Lambda Theta, an international honor and professional association in education.

Lorraine Micheletti, RN, MA, CCRN, was promoted to director of critical care at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, Hamilton, N.J.

Jaime Devera, RNC, MS, CCRN, has accepted a position as assistant director of nursing for staff development at Flushing Hospital Medical Center, Flushing, N.Y. For the past six years, she has been education specialist at Jamaica Hospital Medical Center, Jamaica, N.Y.

Naomi E. Osborne, RN, MS, CCRN, CFRN, has accepted a position as clinical nurse specialist in the pediatric ICU at Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Washington, D.C. She received a master of science degree in pediatric advanced practice nursing from the University of Maryland, Baltimore, Md., and was inducted into the Pi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International.

Reena Nalini Stephens, RN, CCRN, has achieved clinical adviser status at Virginia Mason Hospital, Seattle, Wash.

Kimberly Howe, RN, MSN, CCRN, has been elected to a two-year term as vice president of the Ohio Nurses Association. She is a doctoral student at Case Western Reserve University’s Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Cleveland, Ohio.

Mary Anne Schultz, RN, PhD, has completed interim management and strategic planning consultation for Western University of Health Sciences, College of Graduate Nursing, Pomona, Calif. She is a member of the board of the American Nurses Association-California and is president of the Gamma Tau chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International.

Charity Cabrera, RN, BSN, graduated from the first pediatric internship program at Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles. She received her bachelor of science in nursing degree from the University of Southern California, Los Angeles.

Capt. Laura L. Feider, RN, MN, CCRN, received the Army Nurse Corps Award of Excellence as a junior grade officer. The award, presented by the chief of the Army Nurse Corps, recognizes officers who have made significant contributions to the accomplishment of the Army Medical Department mission and performed in an outstanding manner in support of the soldier in the field. Feider received the award, as well as the Army Achievement Medal, at a leader development program in Washington, D.C.

Ann Burgess, RN, DNSc, FAAN, received the Sigma Theta Tau Episteme Award. She is the Ameringen professor in psychiatric and mental health nursing at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, Philadelphia, Pa.

Margaret R. Widner-Kolberg, RN, BSN, MA, CPN, was named Nurse of the Year for 1999 by Nursing Spectrum.

Jeanne Paul-Allen, RN, MSN, FNP, received the Sigma Theta Tau Excellence in Research Award for a study of nursing practices with closed-system suctioning. The study was in connection with her master’s thesis, and the results were published in the January 2000 issue of the American Journal of Critical Care. Paul-Allen is a family nurse practitioner at Greco Osteopathic Medical Associates, Wheeling, W.Va.

Debbie Waldrop, RN, MSN, CCRC, was presented the Excellence in Nursing Award from the University of Texas at Tyler College of Nursing, Tyler, Tex. The award cited her for exemplifying excellence in nursing education, leadership and research. She graduated with a master’s degree in nursing from the University of Texas at Tyler.

Carol Epstein, RN, PhD, CCRN, CS, and John Clochesy, RN, PhD, CS ,FAAN, FCCM, have received a $25,000 grant to study biological rhythms in the critically ill. Epstein is an assistant professor, and Clochesy is the Independence Foundation professor of nursing education at the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing at Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio. The grant is funded through the President’s Research Initiative Award at Case Western.

Deborah B. Laughon, RN, BSN, MS, DBA, CCRN, has completed her doctorate in business administration at Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, Fla. Her dissertation investigated job satisfaction among critical care nurses as it relates to manager communication style. Laughon is manager of the cardiac ICU at Lakeland Regional Medical Center, Lakeland, Fla., and a faculty member in both the business and nursing programs at the University of Phoenix.

Your Feedback