AACN News—November 2000—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 17, No. 11, MARCH 2000

Members on the Move


Mary Kilgore, RNC, MSN, has accepted a position as department director of adult critical care at Oregon Health Sciences University Hospital, Portland, Ore. She previously was nurse manager at St. Joseph Hospital, Albuquerque, N.M. Her new responsibilities include the cardiac-medical, cardiac-surgical and neurology-trauma ICUs.

Ward F. Wagenseller, RN, CEN, EMT-P, is now a trauma coordinator III with the Trauma Program at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center University Hospital, Albuquerque, N.M. He previously was a staff nurse III in the hospital’s pediatric ICU.

Charmaine P. Pykosh, RN, MS, CCRN, ACNP, has accepted a position as an acute care nurse practitioner with Cardiothoracic Surgical Associates, a cardiothoracic surgical group based at Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh, Pa. Allegheny is part of the West Penn Allegheny Health System. In her new position, Pykosh will continue to work with Robert Keenan, MD, who was her collaborating physician in a similar role at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. Keenan is now director of general thoracic surgery at Allegheny General Hospital.


Carlotta Beebe, RN, MS, was named School of Nursing Teacher of the Year at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.

Sue Perpall, RN, BSN, CCRN, was the recipient of the Sacramento Chapter of AACN Excellence in Caring and Clinical Practice Award. Perpall is an ICU nurse at Barton Memorial Hospital in South Lake Tahoe, Calif. The award was presented by President Emeritus Michael Iredale. Runners-up for the award were Julia Olson, RN. ADN, and Carolyn Wilke, RN ,BSN, BA, CCRN.

Stephanie Christian, RN, MSN, CCRN, received the Nurse of the Year Practice Award for 2000 from the North Dakota Nurses Association. Christian is president of the North Valley Chapter of AACN, Grand Forks, N.D.

Gift Giveaways Appreciate Members

Complimentary registration for AACN’s National Teaching Institute in May 2001 in Anaheim, Calif., was among appreciation gifts doled out by AACN’s Customer Service Department during National Customer Appreciation Week. The recipient was Deborah Tenizo, RN, BSN, CCRN, of Mississauga, Ontario, Canada.

Many other individuals who contacted AACN during the celebration in October 2000 also received gifts. Following are the gifts and the recipients:

One-year AACN membership—Cynthia Zaletel, RN, and Elaine Jones, RN, BSN, CCRN

One-year subscription to Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine— Wendy S. Clark, RN, BSN, CCRN, Laura Crawford, RN, BSN, CCRN, Kathleen Joyce, RN, MS, Lillian Tsai, RN, ADN, CCRN, and Michael Wallace, RN, ADN, BS

Coupon for one free CE article processing fee—Sarah Clemens, Dorene Iacono, RN, BSN, CCRN, Lynn Kuser-Trader, RN, BSN, CCRN, Nemia Ruffes, RN, BSN, CCRN, and Young Saunders

Coupon for $50 off CCRN exam or renewal fee—Leah Heffentrager, RN, BSN, Linda Huffstutler, RN, BSN, Janice Mangum, RN, BSN, CCRN, and Susan Ukwu, RN, BSN

Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Clinical Curriculum and Certification—Patricia Gallagher, RN, BSN, BA

Core Review for Critical Care Nursing—Cassandra J. Kelly, RN, ADN, and Shawnie Wilson, RN

Core Review Study Disk for Critical Care Nursing CD-ROM—Marie Bonitatibus, RN, MA, and Joe Rivers, RN

Forgoing Life-Sustaining Therapy—Glory Fraser, Kathy Gregory, RN, ADN, CCRN, Christine Recker-Herman, RN, ADN, CCRN, and MaryLou Wolfert

Designing Critical Pathways—Renee Chulski, Marie Garrido, RN, MS, CCRN, and Cindy Obeirne, RN

Acute Pancreatitis—Michele Buraczewski, Billie Long, RN, Ann de Baley Nicoll, RN, MSN, BS, CCRN, Gloria Rosati-Culver, RN, BS, BA, and Sally Werner, RN, BSN, CCRN

AACN Clinical Reference for Critical Care Nursing—Beth Glassford, RN, MS

Shock Management CD-ROM—Sharon Jones, RN, MS, CCRN, and Martha Sandra Redditt, RN, ADN, AA, CCRN

Temporary Epicardial Pacing—Ellen McLimore, RN, BSN, CCRN, and Vina Rajski, RN, BSN

Guidelines for the Transfer of Critically Ill Patients—Michael Loga, RN, BSN, BA, Jennifer L. Porter, RN, and Erica Snitcher

Standards of Clinical Practice and Scope of Practice for the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner—Ila E. Hill, RN, BSN, and Carl Schuler, RN, BSN, CCRN

Subacute Care: An Interdisciplinary Curriculum for the Care of Compromised Patients—Deborah Prockup and Elizabeth Shepard, RN, BSN, CCRN

Critical Pathways: A Cardiovascular Surgery Example—MaryJane Hoban, RN, MSN, CCRN, ANP, CNS, and Marie Spezziale, RN, ADN, CCRN

NTI 2000 Program and Proceedings—Elaine Babineau, RN, ADN, CCRN, Carl R. Beals, RN, BS, Joann E. Hinton, RN, Sylvia Letts, RN, BSN, CCRN, Nikolette Pazell, RN, BSN, and Sherrill Shepler, RN, BSN, CCRN

Delegation: A Tool for Success in the Changing Workplace—Pon Ida Benny, RN, BSN, Bonnie Blakeman, RN, ADN, CCRN, Carol Brunsman, Ann Doherty, RN, BSN, CCRN, Jerry Elliott, RN, BSN, Becki Fuzi, RN, MSN, Donna V. Hall, RN, Gary D. Harmon, RN, ADN, Mary Holden, RN, Kathryn Houser, RN, CCRN, Sandra Kewman, RN, BSN, CCRN, Carolyn Lahey, RN, MSN, CCRN, Lorna Lord, RN, CCRN, Pilar Morales, RN, MA, CCRN, Charles Rigsbee, RN, ADN, CCRN, Rosalind Rockwhite, Olga Satchell, RN, BSN, Jane Stanford, Betsy Stickney, RN, ADN, CCRN, Deborah Sutton, RN, MSN, CS, Michelle Taylor, RN, BSN, CCRN, Kittie Wagner, RN, BSN, and Calvin Wallace, RN

The AACN Customer Service Department team was treated to a special luncheon
as part of the National Customer Appreciation Week celebration. Enjoying lunch
on the patio at the AACN National Office in Aliso Viejo, Calif., were (from left, top photos)
Kathy Workman, Jean Evingham, Inger Molina, Lisa Parker and Chelley D’Amato and
(from left, bottom photos) Cindi Correa, Molly Cultice, Colin Beddingfield,
Michelle DuBois and Jan Butterick.

Your Feedback