AACN News—February 2001—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 18, No. 2, FEBRUARY 2001

Gala Event Recognizes Dedication to Nursing

Karen Buhler Wilkerson (left) presents the Nursing Legacy Award to Marguerite Bocutti.

Shown following the presentation of awards at the Philadelphia Museum of Art are (from left) Neville Strumpf, interim dean of the University of Philadelphia School of Nursing; Lenore Kurlowicz; Sarah Kagan; Kathleen McCauley; Karen Buhler Wilkerson, director of the Center for the Study of the History of Nursing; Marilyn Stringer; and Therese Richmond.

Longtime AACN member Marguerite Bocutti, RN, BSN, was presented the Nursing Legacy Award during a celebration of a nursing historical art exhibit titled “Nightingale’s Song” at the
Philadelphia Museum of Art, Philadelphia, Pa.

The gala event in October 2000 was cosponsored by the Center for the Study of the History of Nursing at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing. Also honored at the event were
clinician educators who practice at the University of Pennsylvania Hospital.

The Nursing Legacy Award recognizes excellence in the practice of nursing. Bocutti, who has been a critical care nurse for 28 years, currently practices in the ICU at Presbyterian Medical Center, Philadelphia. She is described as the “nurse’s nurse,” the nurse other nurses would choose if they were a patient.

Among the clinician educators who were honored for their leadership in patient care, nursing education and nursing research were Therese Richmond, RN, PhD, CCRN, FAAN, a former member of the AACN Board of Directors, and Kathleen McCauley, RN, PhD, CS, FAAN, a current member of the board.

Members on the Move

Delfin V. Crisostomo, RN, MSN, has accepted a clinical manager position at Detroit Receiving Hospital, where he has worked 11 years as an ICU nurse. He recently received her master of science in nursing degree from the University of Phoenix.

Kimberly K. Vander Heuvel, RN, MS, CCRN, ARNP-C, is working as an ARNP in the Cardiology Department at Bay Pines Veterans Administration Medical Center, Bay Pines, Fla., where she is starting up the new Heart Failure Clinic.

Doug Elliott, RN, PhD, has accepted the position of professor of nursing in critical care at Prince of Wales Hospital, South Eastern Sydney Area Health Service, Department of Clinical Nursing, University of Sydney, Australia.

Phillip Y. Parcon, RN, BSN, CCRN, CPAN, has been promoted to director of the telemetry floors of Memorial Hermann Baptist Beaumont Hospital, Beaumont, Tex. He previously worked in the cardiovascular ICU and postanesthesia care unit at Christus St. Elizabeth Hospital, Beaumont, and in the cardiac surgery ICU at Cape Fear Valley Medical Center in Fayetteville, N.C.

Wendy I. Piascik, RN, MS, CCRN, CNAA, has accepted a new position as senior vice president of patient care services at Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth Hitchcock-Keene, Keene, N.H. She previously was vice president of patient care services at Memorial Hospital-West Volusia, Deland, Fla.

Edmundo Molina, RN, MSN, CCRN, FNP, ACNP, has obtained certification as an acute care nurse practitioner. He works in postoperative care of cardiothoracic and vascular patients at Mercy Health Center, Laredo, Tex.

W. Zafe Futch, RN, ADN, CCRN, was promoted to manager of the cardiac catheter lab and EPI lab at New Hanover Regional Medical Center, Wilmington, N.D.

Caroline Tassey, RN, MSN, CCRN, CPNP, is now working as the nurse practitioner in the cardiac center at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pa.

Suzanne M. Buchanan, RN, CCRN, has accepted a position as nurse educator at the Arizona Burn Center, where she has been a staff nurse for 14 years. She also previously has worked in the emergency department and as a flight nurse, and is a national advanced burn life support instructor.

Carol D. Epstein, RN, PhD, CCRN, CS, was chosen to receive the Carl F. Wittke Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching by Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio. Epstein is an assistant professor at Case Western’s Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing.

Renee Twibell, RN, DNS, was awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award by Ball State University, Muncie, Ind. An associate professor at the Ball State University School of Nursing, Twibell was selected for the award from among more than 800 faculty members. She is a member of the board of the White River Chapter of AACN.

Sandra Panhwar, RN, MS, MSN, MPA, CCRN, was one of six nurses selected to participate as an exam item reviewer for a National Council Licensure Examination item development panel session in Princeton, N.J. She was nominated by the Pennsylvania Board of Nursing. Panhwar is coordinator of the extended postanesthesia care unit at Shriners Hospitals for Children, Erie, Pa.

Sylvia Acevedo, RN, BSN, CCRN, of West Orange, N.J., was chosen to receive the Staff Nurse Clinical Nurse of the Year Award by the Philippine Nurses Association of New Jersey, Inc.

Teresa Zaroda, RN, NCMC, received an award for Excellence in Pain Management from the Southern California Cancer Pain Initiative. She was honored for her contributions to the relief of suffering by cancer patients.

Lydia Mae Dorsey O’Neal, RN, BSN, received the Individual Outstanding Volunteer Service Award for 2000 from the National Black Nurses Association, Inc. The award was presented at the association’s 28th annual Institute and Conference in Washington, D.C.

M. Magdalene Cortes, RN, MSN, ARNP, CCRN, has received her master of science in nursing degree from Andrews University, Orlando, Fla. She has joined Central Florida Heart Associates as the cardiology nurse practitioner.

Deborah T. Hooker, RN, MSN, CCRN, CS, ACNP, received her master of science in nursing degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston, Tex., after completing the acute care nurse practitioner program. She was inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International. Hooker passed the ACNP certification exam. She is working as a nurse practitioner for a urology group in Conroe, Tex.

Donna M. Fiorini, RN, MSN, CCRN, CRNP, received her master of science in nursing degree after completing the acute care nurse practitioner program at the University of Pennsylvania. She is an advanced practice nurse at Berks Cardiologists, Ltd., Reading, Pa. Fiorini is immediate past president of the Greater Reading Chapter of AACN.

Bruno Talerico, RN, CEN, received his master of science in nursing degree from the University of Phoenix and was inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International. He is working as
an emergency and critical care education consultant for the John C. Lincoln Health Network, Phoenix, Ariz.

Lou Ann Montgomery, RN, PhD, CCRN, CCNS, graduated with a doctor of philosophy degree in education from the University of Iowa, Iowa City.
Your Feedback