AACN News—December 2002—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 19, No. 12, DECEMBER 2002

In Memory

Longtime AACN Members and Volunteers Victims of Tragic Shooting in Arizona

Two AACN members who made significant contributions to their profession and their professional association died Oct. 28 in a shooting on the campus of the University of Arizona College of Nursing, Tucson, where both were faculty members.

Cheryl McGaffic, RN, PhD, CCRN, and Barbara Monroe, RN, MSN, CCRN, died when a troubled nursing student opened fire in a classroom filled with students. Additional information about these two dedicated critical care nurses and the tributes to them can be found on the AACN Web site at http://www.aacn.org.

Cheryl McGaffic
Cheryl, a clinical associate professor, had been a nurse for more than 20 years and a member of AACN since 1999. She served on the 2002 Novice Critical Care Nurses Advisory Team. Cheryl had been scheduled as a guest speaker at the next meeting of the Southern Arizona Chapter of AACN.

In addition to adult critical nursing, Cheryl taught a course on death and dying. She had become a chaplain at hospitals in the area and planned to become full-time chaplain for the U.S. Veterans Affairs Hospital. She was also the lead nurse on the Tucson AIDS Project.

Barbara Monroe
Barbara, a clinical assistant professor, also worked in the cardiac ICU at University Medical Center.

An AACN member since 1989, she was a member of the Southern Arizona Chapter of AACN and was serving as the AACN Region 17 Chapter Advisory Team representative at the time of her death. She was also an AACN/CCRN ambassador and a member of the AACN Continuing Education Articles Review Panel.

Memorial Contributions
The University of Arizona College of Nursing has established a memorial fund in honor of Cheryl and Barbara, as well as a third victim of the shooting, Robin Rogers. Contributions can be made payable to the Nursing Faculty Memorial Fund/UAF and sent to the Office of Development, P.O. Box 245018, University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz. 85750-5018.

In addition, the Southern Arizona Chapter has established a scholarship fund in their memory. The funds will be used for scholarships to the NTI and nursing education programs in the Tucson area.
Contributions can be sent to Monica Pilar Lawrence, President, Southern Arizona Chapter of AACN, c/o Scholarship Fund, P.O. Box 40353, Tucson, AZ 85717-40353.
Their names have also been added to the Virtual Nurses� Memorial that honors nurses who have died in the line of nursing care or while assisting colleagues in reaching the goal of providing the highest quality of nursing care to patients.

Linda Strangio
Linda Strangio, RN, MA, CCRN, CRN, of West Orange, N.J., died Oct. 28. She had been a critical care nurse for 17 years and a radiology nurse for 10 years at Mountainside Hospital, Glen Ridge, N.J., where she was also a staff nurse, charge nurse, head nurse, patient care coordinator and nursing coordinator. Earlier this year, she received the Schumann Award, the hospital�s highest honor.
She was a longtime member of the Northern New Jersey Chapter of AACN.

In addition to publishing professional articles and advanced practice nursing courses, Linda was the author of three books about nursing, To Be a Nurse, Lifebeats and Nurse Notes. She was also a speaker at seminars and conferences and was a faculty member for the chapter�s annual conference.

Memorial contributions can be made in her name to the Mountainside Hospital Foundation, 1 Bay Ave., Montclair, NJ 07042.

Members on the Move


Kathleen Dracup, RN, DNSc, FNP, FAAN, dean and professor at the University of California, San Francisco, School of Nursing, was selected to be the distinguished research lecturer for the Western Institute of Nursing conference in Palm Springs, Calif. The title of her presentation was �Beyond the Patient: Caring for Families,� a review of her program of research examining the role of families in acute and chronic cardiovascular illness. Dracup, who is co-editor of the AACN publication, American Journal of Critical Care, has also been elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine.

Anne Wojner, RN, PhD, CCRN, a past president of AACN, received the Stroke Volunteer of the Year Award and the Stroke Advocate of the Year Award from the American Stroke Association, a division of the American Heart Association. Wojner, who has developed 10 independent stroke centers in the Houston, Texas, area, is currently expanding her work to include an additional 16 centers. Eight of these will be served by advanced practice nurses using telemedicine links to Wojner�s offices at the University of Texas Houston Medical School, where she is assistant professor of neurology and neuroscience critical care medicine in the Department of Neurology. Wojner also serves as chairperson of Operation Stroke-Houston.

Beverly A. Johnson, RN, MSN, APRN, CCRN, received her master of science in nursing degree from the University of Akron, where she completed the adult/gerontological nurse practitioner program. She was inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. In addition, she achieved certification as an adult nurse practitioner. Johnson works in the ICU at Summa Health System, Akron, Ohio.
Your Feedback