AACN News—June 2002—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 19, No. 6, JUNE 2002

Members on the Move

AACN President Michael L. Williams, RN, MSN, CCRN, was selected to receive the 2002 Distinguished Alumni Award from Lansing Community College, Lansing, Mich.

Nurse of the Year awards were presented by the Brevard Chapter, Rockledge, Fla., to nurses from three area hospitals. Receiving the honors were Sandra Kuhn, RN, of Wusthoff Memorial Hospital, Rockledge; Rebecca Cronau, RN, of Cape Canaveral Hospital, Cocoa Beach, Fla.; and Debra Gardner, RN, BSN, Parrish Medical Center, Titusville, Fla. The awards were presented at the chapter´┐Żs annual Awards Banquet.

Elizabeth B. Seislove, RN, MSN, CCRN, of Macungie, Pa., received the Pennsylvania Nightingale Award for Advanced Practice Nursing.

Susan Brown, RN, MSN, CCRN, APRN, BC, received her master of science in nursing degree from Georgia Southern University, Statesboro, Ga., after completing the family nurse practitioner program. Brown was class president and received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. She currently works as a family nurse practitioner at the Patterson Community Care Center, a rural health clinic in Georgia. She also continues to work part time in a combined ICU/CCU in Jesup, Ga.

Karen D. Walker, RN, MS, CCRN, received her master of science in nursing degree from North Park University.

Ten pairs of participants at NTI 2002 in Atlanta, Ga., were recipients of special $1,000
AACN Vision Partners scholarships to offset expenses. One partner was already
a member of AACN, but the other partner was not and had not previously attended
the NTI. The recipients were Jean A. Clark and Michelle E. Aube, John Pozar and
Yolanda Burke-Dee, Mary Lou Sole and Michael Tran, Sofia Puerto and Maximina
Contreras, Therese S. Richmond and Salimah H. Meghani, Cynthia A. Picarsic an
Toya Eubank, Karen Gaertner and Nancy J. Maher, Nancy D. King and Loretta
Jackson Brown, Denise Buonocore and Kathleen Dillon, and Michelle Murray
and Alix Bryon.

30 Years of Publishing

Marking 30 years of nursing science publishing, the current
and former editors reminisce and plan for the future. Shown
at the AACN Publications Booth in the Critical Care Exposition
at NTI 2002 in Atlanta, Ga., were (from left) Christopher
Bryan-Brown, editor of the American Journal of Critical Care;
Penny Vaughan, a founding editor of Critical Care Nurse;
JoAnn Grif Alspach, current editor of Critical Care Nurse; and
Kathleen Dracup, editor of the American Journal of Critical Care.
Vee Rice, the other founding editor of Critical Care Nurse, was
not available for the photograph. Rice and Vaughan were honored at
the NTI as recipients of the AACN-Ross Products Pioneering Spirit Award.

Your Feedback