AACN News—January 2003—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 20, No. 1, JANUARY 2003

6 AACN Members Inducted Into American Academy of Nursing

Six AACN members were among 73 new fellows inducted into the American Academy of Nursing in a ceremony in October in Naples, Fla.

The new fellows are Judith Gedney Baggs, RN, PhD, of Pittsford, N.Y.; Ruth M. Kleinpell, RN-CS, PhD, ACNP, CCRN, of Chicago, Ill.; Ramon Lavandero, RN, MA, MSN, of Laguna Niguel, Calif.; Patricia Moloney-Harmon, RN, MS, CCNS, CCRN, of Baltimore, Md.; Debra K. Moser, RN, DNSc, of Lexington, Ky.; and Mary Woo, RN, DNSc, of South Pasadena, Calif.
Baggs is associate dean for academics and professor at the University of Rochester School of Nursing. She is also the associate editor of Research in Nursing and Health and chair of the Initial Review Group at National Institute for Nursing Research. Her research has focused on collaboration between ICU nurses and physicians and end-of-life decision making in the ICU.

Kleinpell is associate professor at the Rush University College of Nursing, where she teaches in the graduate critical care, acute care nurse practitioner and doctoral program. She has conducted research in the areas of outcomes for critically ill, elderly patients and acute care nurse practitioner practice. She is a nurse practitioner at Our Lady of the Resurrection Medical Center.

Lavandero is director of Development & Strategic Alliances for AACN. He has served on the national boards of both AACN and AACN Certification Corporation. He was the first nurse to participate in the Hispanic Leadership Fellows program and was director of Sigma Theta Tau�s International Leadership Institute.

Moloney-Harmon is an advanced practice nurse/clinical nurse specialist at the Children�s Hospital at Sinai, Baltimore, Md. She is a past member of the AACN Board of Directors and a past chair of the AACN Certification Corporation Board. She is currently one of only three nursing members of the Board of Directors of the World Federation of Pediatric Intensive and Critical Care Societies. She is currently the associate editor of Clinical Practice for Clinical Nurse Specialists: the Journal for Advanced Practice.

Moser is professor and the first Linda C. Gill chair of Cardiovascular Nursing at the University of Kentucky, College of Nursing, Lexington, Ky. Her research has focused on heart failure. In 1996, she received the AACN-sponsored Sigma Theta Tau Critical Care Grant and in 1998, the AACN Mentorship Grant. She is co-editor of the Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing.

Woo is the associate dean for research and an associate professor at the University of California-Los Angeles School of Nursing. She was the first person at UCLA to teach a course via the Internet. Her research focuses on autonomic-cardiac interactions in relation to sudden death risk in heart failure.

To be inducted into the academy, a nominee must have demonstrated extraordinary commitment and contributions to nursing that exceed the responsibilities of their employment, as well as the potential for sustained contributions to the profession in the future.

The American Academy of Nursing was established in 1973 to provide visionary leadership to the nursing profession and the public in shaping future healthcare policy and practice. There are currently 1,500 fellows in the Academy, including more than 100 AACN members.

Members on the Move

Yin Tjie Schaff, RN, MS, APRN, BC, received a master of science degree, with a focus as a family nurse practitioner, from the University of Minnesota. She works at the St. Mary Duluth Clinic Regional Heart Center, Duluth, Minn.

Barbara W. Girardin, RN, PhD, has received a grant from the Office of Violence Against Women to fund a multidisciplinary conference for forensic sexual assault examiners, law enforcement, forensic interviewers and others involved in the care of victims of violence on the island of Guam.


Reynaldo Rivera, RN, MA, EdM, CCRN, CNAA, ANP, was inducted into the Nursing Hall of Fame by the Nursing Education Alumni Association of the Teachers College at Columbia University, New York, N.Y. An AACN Region 2 Chapter Advisory Team representative, Rivera is chairperson of the NYSNA Council on Continuing Education and president of the Philippine Nurses Association of New York. In addition, he received the 2001 Marissa Pica Chapter Leadership and Clinical Leadership awards from the New York City Chapter of AACN. He is senior director of nursing at the Brooklyn Hospital Center.

Your Feedback