AACN News—May 2003—People

AACN News Logo

Back to AACN News Home

Vol. 20, No. 5, MAY 2003

Members on the Move

Maria A. Connolly (left) and Suzi Burns
were inducted into the Academy of
Critical Care Medicine.

Maria A. Connolly, RN, DNSc, CCRN, APN, FCCM, and Suzanne M. Burns, RN, MSN, RRT, ACNP, CCRN, FAAN, FCCM, were inducted into the Academy of Critical Care Medicine during the Society of Critical Care Medicine's annual conference in San Antonio, Texas, in January. Connolly, a past member of the AACN Board of Directors, and Burns is currently a member of the board. In addition, Norma J. Shoemaker, RN, MN, FCCM, and her husband William C. Shoemaker, MD, FCCM, received the SCCM Lifetime Achievement Award.

Karen Plaza-Lewis, RN, CCRN, of Cape Coral, Fla., received the Nurse Exemplar 2002 award for clinical excellence from the Florida Nurses Association, District 7. The award focused on how, through a clinical experience, she made a difference in someone's life.

Vickie Maji-Takei, RN, BSN, CCRN, received the 2002 NurseWeek Mountain West Nursing Excellence Award for mentoring. She is a charge nurse at Presbyterian Healthcare Services, Albuquerque, N.M.

Terry Reilly, RN, MSN, CCRN, received third place in the 2002 Best Nurse Manager contest sponsored by Advance for Nurses. Reilly is the nurse manager of the telemetry and interventional units at Abington (Pa.) Memorial Hospital.
Several AACN members were honored at the annual reception, dinner and business meeting of the American Heart Association's Council on Cardiovascular Nursing. Joanne Harrell, RN, PhD, FAAN, FAHA, of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, received the Katharine Lembright Award, and Hollie A. DeVon, RN, PhD, and Marilyn A. Prasun, RN, MSN, PhD, were finalists for the Martha N. Hill New Investigator Award.
In addition, four AACN members were among those acknowledged as newly inducted fellows of the AHA. They are Suzette Cardin, RN, DNSc, FAHA, Dennis J. Cheek, RN, PhD, FAHA, Deborah Ann Chyun, RN, MSN, FAHA, Margo A. Halm, RN, CCRN, CS, FAHA.

Tammy Hargett, RN, MSN, CCRN, was named the Distinguished Nursing Alumnae for 2002 by the University of Southern Indiana School of Nursing, Evansville. She is a family nurse practitioner at Welborn Clinic Highland.

Kathy Booker, RN, MS, CCRN, was named dean of nursing at Millikin University, Decatur, Ill. She previously was an associate professor of nursing at Millikin, where she has taught 10 years.

Jose Mapalad M. Planillo, RN, MSN, CCRN, has been elected to a two-year term on the New York State Nurses Association Board of Directors. A resident of New Milford, N.J., he works in the ICU at Columbia Presbyterian's Allen Pavilion.

AACN on Tour

Participants in AACN's Study Tour to Europe in Fall 2002
visited Brussels, Belgium; Strasbourg, France; Heidelberg,
Germany; and Geneva, Switzerland. The tour provided a
cross-cultural learning experience through collaborative
learning, professional sharing and networking.
Your Feedback