CMC Renewal Options and Eligibility Requirements

CMCs seeking renewal of their subspecialty certification focus their continuing education on programs that have direct application to the needs of acutely/critically ill cardiac patients.

Acceptable topics and programs along with guidance on how to calculate CERPs can be found in the CMC Renewal Handbook.

Eligibility Requirements for Renewal

  • Current, unencumbered licensure as an RN or APRN in the United States is required.
    • An unencumbered license has not been subjected to formal discipline by any board of nursing during the 3-year certification period and has no provisions or conditions that limit the nurse's practice in any way. This applies to all RN or APRN licenses currently held.
    • Certificants must notify AACN Certification Corporation within 30 days if any restriction is placed on their RN or APRN license(s).
  • Have passed the CMC subspecialty certification exam.
  • Hold a current nationally accredited (NCCA or ABNS) clinical nursing specialty certification, such as CCRN, CCRN-E, PCCN, ACNPC, ACNPC-AG, CCNS, ACCNS-AG, CEN, RN-BC, APRN-BC, ACNP-BC, etc.
  • Practice as an RN or APRN is required for 432 hours in direct bedside care of acutely/critically ill cardiac patients during the 3-year certification renewal period, with 144 of those hours accrued in the 12-month period prior to the scheduled renewal date.
  • Clinical practice hours must take place in a U.S.-based or Canada-based facility or in a facility determined to be comparable by verifiable evidence to the U.S. standard of acute/critical care nursing practice, as evidenced by Magnet Status or Joint Commission International accreditation.
  • Nurses serving as manager, educator (in-service or academic), CNS or preceptor may apply hours spent supervising nursing students or nurses at the bedside toward the clinical hour requirement. Nurses in these roles must be actively involved in caring for cardiac and/or cardiac surgery patients; for example, demonstrating how to measure pulmonary artery pressures or supervising a new employee or student nurse performing a procedure.
  • For more details, view the CMC renewal policy or the CMC Renewal Handbook.

Option 1 — Renewal by CERPs

  • Meet the eligibility requirements for certification renewal.
  • Subspecialty Renewal by CERPs is obtained by accumulating a total of 25 Category A clinical judgment CERPs. These CERPs must be accrued during the 3-year certification renewal period.
  • CERPs must pertain to cardiology and may include any topic on the CMC Test Plan.
  • ACLS courses are acceptable for CERPs once during the 3-year certification renewal period.

Option 2 — Renewal by Exam

  • Meet the eligibility requirements for certification renewal and successfully complete the exam.
  • The CMC Exam Handbook provides exam policies and an application.

Do not apply for more than one option.

  • It is not permissible to take the exam early and then attempt to renew by CERPs if you fail.


Your Feedback