Karen McQuillan, Director

AACN Board
July 2011 – June 2014

Karen McQuillan, RN, MS, CNS-BC, CCRN, CNRN, FAAN, serves a three-year term as a director on the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) board from July 1, 2011, through June 30, 2014. She fulfills second concurrent, one-year term as director on the AACN Certification Corporation Board, a position that ends June 30, 2014.

McQuillan — clinical nurse specialist (CNS) at R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical System, Baltimore, a position she’s held since 1987 — was a critical care CNS at Greater Laurel Beltsville Hospital, Md., from 1986 to 1987. She held staff nurse positions at R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, Baltimore, and Doctor’s Hospital of Prince George’s County, Lanham, Md., from 1981 to 1987.

An investigator, author and presenter on issues related to trauma and nursing, McQuillan holds a faculty associate position with the University of Maryland School of Nursing, Baltimore. Her numerous honors include the 2011 Society of Trauma Nursing Trauma Leadership Award, the Nursing Spectrum, Washington D.C./Baltimore edition 2007 Excellence Award for Teaching and the 1997 Nurses of Excellence.

A member of AACN’s Chesapeake Bay Chapter since 1987, McQuillan has chaired the NTI Planning Committee and served on the Evidence-Based Practice Resource Group, Continuing Education Review Panel and NTI Evaluation Team. In June 2013, she completed a one-year term as a director on the ACCN Certification Corporation board.

McQuillan belongs to the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing, American Nurses Association, American Association of Neuroscience Nurses, Society of Critical Care Medicine, Society of Trauma Nurses and American Trauma Society. She was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing (FAAN) in 2011.

McQuillan earned her prenursing degree from the University of Maryland at College Park in 1979 and Bachelor of Science in nursing from the University of Maryland, Baltimore in 1981, where she graduated magna cum laude and earned a Master of Science in trauma/critical care nursing in 1986.


Your Feedback