Karen McQuillan, Immediate Past President

AACN Board
July 2015 – June 2016

Karen McQuillan, RN, MS, CNS-BC, CCRN, CNRN, FAAN, serves a one-year term as president on the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) board of directors from July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2016. She previously served as president-elect from July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2015 and as a director from July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2014. 

McQuillan is a clinical nurse specialist (CNS) at R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, Baltimore, a position she’s held since 1987. She was a critical care CNS at Greater Laurel Beltsville Hospital, Maryland, from 1986 to 1987 and held staff nurse positions at R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center and Doctor’s Hospital of Prince George’s County, Lanham, Maryland, from 1981 to 1987.

An investigator, author and presenter on issues related to trauma and nursing, McQuillan holds a faculty associate position with University of Maryland School of Nursing, Baltimore.

A member of AACN’s Chesapeake Bay Chapter since 1987, McQuillan has chaired the NTI Program Planning Committee and served on the Evidence-Based Practice Resource Group, Continuing Education Review Panel and NTI Evaluation Team.

McQuillan belongs to the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing, American Nurses Association, American Association of Neuroscience Nurses, Society of Critical Care Medicine, Society of Trauma Nurses and American Trauma Society. She was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing in 2011.

Her numerous honors include the 2011 Society of Trauma Nursing Trauma Leadership Award, the Nursing Spectrum, Washington/Baltimore edition, 2007 Excellence Award for Teaching and the 1997 Nurses of Excellence.

McQuillan earned a pre-nursing degree from University of Maryland at College Park in 1979 and Bachelor of Science in Nursing from University of Maryland, Baltimore in 1981, where she graduated magna cum laude and earned a Master of Science in trauma/critical care nursing in 1986.


Your Feedback