U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and Critical Care Societies Collaborative






National Awards Program to Recognize Achievements in
Eliminating Healthcare-Associated Infections

Cosponsored by the US Department of Health and Human Services and the Critical Care Societies Collaborative, this new national awards program will annually recognize teams of critical care professionals and healthcare institutions that achieve excellence and notable, sustained improvements in preventing healthcare-associated infections, specifically infections in critical care. For the program’s initial phase, awards will emphasize success related to reducing and eliminating central line-associated bloodstream infections and ventilator-associated pneumonia.

2011 Award Recipients

Achievement in Eliminating Ventilator-Associated Pneumonia and
Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infections


Mercy Hospital ICU
Coon Rapids, Minnesota

North Shore-LIJ HealthSystem
New York, New York

Riverside Methodist Hospital
Columbus, Ohio

St. Joseph Mercy Hospital
Ann Arbor, Michigan


Baptist Memorial Hospital-Memphis
Memphis, Tennessee

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts

Detroit Medical Center
Detroit, Michigan

Lakeland Healthcare
St. Joseph, Michigan

Norman Regional Health System
Norman, Oklahoma

Salem Health Critical Care Services
Salem, Oregon

Achievement in Eliminating Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infections


Children’s Hospital & Clinics of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Cook Children’s Medical Center
Fort Worth, Texas

HealthPark Medical Center Open Heart ICU
Ft. Meyers, Florida

Lehigh Valley Health Network
Allentown, Pennsylvania

Rome Memorial Hospital
Rome, New York

Stony Brook University Medical Center
East Setauket, New York

University of Michigan Hospitals & Health
Centers Critical Care Medicine Unit
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital
Newborn Special Care Unit
New Haven, Connecticut


Akron Children’s Hospital NICU
Akron, Ohio

Children’s National Medical Center
Washington, DC

Cleveland Clinic Cardiovascular ICU
Cleveland, Ohio

Howard County General Hospital
Columbia, Maryland

Medina Hospital ICU
Medina, Ohio

Rochester General Hospital
Rochester, New York

Achievement in Eliminating Ventilator-Associated Pneumonia


Baylor University Medical Center Truett ICU
Dallas, Texas

Johnson City Medical Center
Johnson City, Tennessee

Seton Medical Center
Daly City, California

St. Catherine of Siena Medical Center
New York, New York

St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital
Houston, Texas

University Hospital
Augusta, Georgia


Carolinas Medical Center Neuro Surgical ICU
Charlotte, North Carolina

Highland Hospital ICU
Rochester, New York

Huntington Memorial Hospital
Pasadena, California

Palmdale Regional Medical Center
Palmdale, California

Providence St. Mary Medical Center
Walla Walla, Washington

Saint Anne’s Hospital
Fall River, Massachusetts

St. Joseph Hospital Orange
Orange, California 

Your Feedback