2012 AACN Circle of Excellence

Circle of Excellence awards recognize and showcase excellent outcomes in the care of acutely and critically ill patients and their families. The awards program is designed to align with the association's mission and vision focusing on outcomes responsive to professional and environmental issues in acute and critical care nursing.

AACN would like to acknowledge and thank the following companies for their generous support of the 2012 Circle of Excellence program:


Nominations are evaluated by a panel of volunteer reviewers and rated on the basis of how well the nominees achieved the following criteria:

  • Relentlessly promotes patient-driven excellence
  • Models skilled communication, true collaboration, effective decision-making and meaningful recognition
  • Transforms thinking, structures and processes to address challenges and remove barriers to advance patient-driven excellence
  • Furthers AACN’s mission and key initiatives at influential forums
  • Enriches own and other organizations by influencing and mentoring others in achieving excellence
  • Achieves visible results that validate impact of individual leadership contribution to organizational excellence

2012 AACN Individual Circle of Excellence

The following AACN members have been selected to receive 2012 awards and will become permanent members of the AACN Circle of Excellence Society.

Marian Altman, RN, MS, CNS-BC, CCRN, ANP
Clinical Nurse Specialist Digestive Health Unit
VCU Health System
Richmond, Virginia

Juliet G. Beniga, RN, BSN, CCRN, CNRN
Clinical Staff Nurse IV, Neuroscience ICU
The Queen's Medical Center
Honolulu, Hawaii

Cheri S. Blevins, RN, MSN, CCRN, CCNS
Clinical Nurse Specialist
University of Virginia Health System
Charlottesville, Virginia

Melissa L. Browning, DNP, APRN, CCNS
Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist-SICU
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, Illinois

Jill Michelle Carrington, RN, BS, CCRN
Staff Nurse, Cardiac ICU 
Mission Hospital
Mission Viejo, California

Linda L. Chlan, RN, PhD
Associate Professor
University of Minnesota School of Nursing
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Jean Anne Connor, RN, DNSc, CPNP
Director of Nursing Research Cardiovascular and Critical Care
Children’s Hospital Boston
Boston, Massachusetts

Cher Hagaman, RN, MSN, CNS, CCRN-CSC, PHN
Staff Nurse, Cardiovascular ICU/CCU
Hoag Hospital
Newport Beach, California

Katherine Kelly Hancock, RN, MSN, NE-BC
Chief Nursing Officer - Main Campus
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Elizabeth A. Henneman, RN, PhD, CCNS, FAAN
Associate Professor
University of Massachusetts School of Nursing
Amherst, Massachusetts

Vincent W. Holly, RN, MSN, BA, CCRN, CCNS
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Indiana University Health Bloomington Hospital
Bloomington, Indiana

Larissa Hutchins, RN, MSN, CCRN, CCNS
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Maureen Keckeisen, RN, MN, CCRN
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Transplant Surgical Specialties ICU 
Ronald Reagan UCLA Health System
Los Angeles, California

Maureen A. Madden, RN, MSN, CCRN, CPNP-AC, FCCM
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Pediatric Critical Care Nurse Practitioner
UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
New Brunswick, New Jersey

Julie Miller, RN, BSN, CCRN
President and Founder 
Paws to Learn
Whitehouse, Texas

Kasey Nelson, RN, BSN, CCRN-P
The Children’s Hospital at the Medical Center of Central Georgia
Macon, Georgia

Laura O’Brien, RN, CCRN
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Beth Israel Medical Center – Petrie Division
New York, New York

Daleen Aragon Penoyer, RN, PhD, CCRP, FCCM
Director, Center for Nursing Research
Orlando Health
Orlando, Florida

Matthew J. Quin, RN, MSN
Nurse Director, Cardiac Surgery ICU
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

Jessica Reid, RN, BSN, PCCN, CCRN
Staff Nurse, Trauma ICU
Orlando Regional Medical Center
Orlando, Florida

Zonna Rogers, RN, BSN
Manager Surgical ICU
Sharp Memorial Hospital
San Diego, California

Louise Saladino, RN, DNP, MHA, CCRN
Director of Critical Care Services and Cardiac
Catheterization/Electrophysiology Lab
Durham Regional Hospital
Duke University Health System
Durham, North Carolina

Lauren M. Saul, RN, MSN
Clinical Nurse Specialist
UPMC Shadyside Hospital
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Christine S. Schulman, RN, MS, CCRN
Critical Care Clinical Nurse Specialist
Legacy Health – Legacy Emanuel Medical Center
Portland, Oregon

Rose B. Shaffer, RN, MSN, ACNP-BC, CCRN
Cardiology Nurse Practitioner
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

return to top

2012 AACN Chapter Circle of Excellence

AACN chapters that have made a difference in the healthcare profession and their communities will receive 2012 Circle of Excellence awards.

Excellence in Collaboration

Greater Miami Area Chapter
Miami, Florida

Greater Milwaukee Area Chapter
Hartland, Wisconsin

Greater Portland Chapter
Beaverton, Oregon

Excellence in Educational Programming

Central Coast of California Chapter
Salinas, California

Central Savannah River Area Chapter
Augusta, Georgia

Greater Toledo Area Chapter
Whitehouse, Ohio

Excellence in Leadership Development

Awarded in memory of Sharon Connor, AACN director of membership and chapters from 1985 to 1997, for her advocacy of volunteerism and dedication to the success of chapters.

Greater Milwaukee Area Chapter
Hartland, Wisconsin

Greater Rochester Finger Lakes Chapter
Rochester, New York

Metropolitan Orlando Chapter
Orlando, Florida

Excellence in Promoting the Value of Certification

Palm Beach County Chapter
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida

Excellence in Community Education & Public Service

Central Indiana Chapter
Indianapolis, Indiana

Greater Rochester Finger Lakes Chapter
Rochester, New York

Red River Chapter
Shreveport, Louisiana

President’s Award for Chapters

Recognition for effectively integrating the theme, Together, Stronger, Bolder, in activities and programs throughout the year.

Delmarva Chapter
Salisbury, Maryland

Greater Portland Chapter
Beaverton, Oregon

Metropolitan Orlando Chapter
Orlando, Florida

Palm Beach County Chapter
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida

ICU Design Citation

The 2012 ICU Design Citation, an award cosponsored by AACN, the Society of Critical Care Medicine and the American Institute of Architects Academy on Architecture for Health, which recognizes the successful combination of functional ICU design with the humanitarian delivery of care, will be awarded to:

Foothills Medical Centre
Calgary, Canada

return to top

Your Feedback