2013 Circle of Excellence

Circle of Excellence awards recognize and showcase excellent outcomes in the care of acutely and critically ill patients and their families. The awards program is designed to align with the association's mission and vision focusing on outcomes responsive to professional and environmental issues in acute and critical care nursing.

AACN would like to acknowledge and thank the following companies for their generous support of the 2013 Circle of Excellence program:


Nominations are evaluated by a panel of volunteer reviewers and rated on the basis of how well the nominees achieved the following criteria:

  • Relentlessly promotes patient-driven excellence
  • Models skilled communication, true collaboration, effective decision-making and meaningful recognition
  • Transforms thinking, structures and processes to address challenges and remove barriers to advance patient-driven excellence
  • Furthers AACN’s mission and key initiatives at influential forums
  • Enriches own and other organizations by influencing and mentoring others in achieving excellence
  • Achieves visible results that validate impact of individual leadership contribution to organizational excellence

2013 AACN Individual Circle of Excellence

The following AACN members have been selected to receive 2013 awards and will become permanent members of the AACN Circle of Excellence Society.

Janet Bryne, RN, MSN
MICU Nurse Manager
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, South Carolina

Beckie Church, RN, MSN, ACNP
Surgical Clinical Specialist
Lexington Medical Center
West Columbia, South Carolina

Mary Ciechanowski, RN, MSN, APN, ACNS-BC, CCRN
Stroke APN 
Christiana Care Health System
Newark, Delaware

Eleanor Fitzpartick, RN, MS, CCRN, CRNP
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Surgical ICU & Intermediate Surgical ICU
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Rhonda Fleischman, RN-BC, MSN, CNS, CCRN-CMC
CNS & Clinical Educator, Cardiac Care Unit 
Aultman Hospital
Canton, Ohio

Christina Greig, RN, BSN, CCRN
Nurse Manager, Medical ICU
University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Cleveland, Ohio

Eileen Grunwald, RN, MS, NEA-BC
Nurse Manager
Baystate Medical Center 
Springfield, Massachusetts

Cheryl Holderfield, RN, MSN, CCRN, CNRN, CNS
Manager Neuroscience ICU & NIR
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, South Carolina

Sheryl Hollyday, RN, MSN, FNP
Palliative Care NP
St. Vincent's Multispecialty Group
Bridgeport, Connecticut

Denise Kerley, RN, BSN, CNRN
Staff Nurse, Medical ICU
IU Health/IU Hospital
Indianapolis, Indiana

Steven Klahn, RN, MBA, BSN, CCRN-E
Tele-ICU Operations Director
Vanguard Baptist Health System
San Antonio, Texas

Shannon Lubin, RN, MS, CCRN
Rapid Response Nurse
Virginia Commonwealth University Health System
Richmond, Virginia

Cindy Martin-Salinas, RN, BSN, CCRN-CSC
Clinical Educator, ICU and Cardiac Unit 
Kadlec Regional Medical Center 
Richland, Washington

Linda McGowan, RN, BSN, MS, NE-BC, CCRN
Nurse Manager, ICU 
Winchester Hospital
Winchester, Massachusetts

Mary Jo Moore, RN, MA, CCRN, CNML
Nurse Manager ICU/Rapid Response Team/Magnet Program Director 
Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center and Children's Hospital
Spokane, Washington

Dianne Pearce, RN, BSN, CCRN
Nurse Manager, Cardiac ICU
University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Cleveland, Ohio

Carol A. Rauen, RN, MS, CCNS, CCRN, PCCN, CEN
Clinical Nurse Specialist & Education Consultant
The Outer Banks of North Carolina

Tracy Ricket, RN, MS, CCRN, NEA-BC
Nurse Manager, CVICU and ECMO Program
Levine Children's Hospital-Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, North Carolina

Critical Care CNS
Northwest Community Hospital
Arlington Heights, Illinois

Sue Sirianni, RN, DNP, ANP-BC, CCRN
Nurse Practitioner, Surgical Intesive Care
Sinai Grace Hospital
Detroit, Michigan

Mary Spiering, RN-BC, MN, CNS
Cardiology Clinical Nurse Specialist
Providence St. Vincent Medical Center
Portland, Oregon

Lynda Stoodley, RN, MSN, NP-C, CCRN, CSC, PCCN
Cardiothoracic Surgery Nurse Practitioner 
Torrance Memorial Medical Center
Torrance, California

Cheryl Toole, RN, MS, CCRN
Nurse Director, Neonatal ICU
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

John Whitcomb, RN, PhD, CCRN, FCCM
Assistant Professor of Nursing
Clemson University, School of Nursing
Clemson, South Carolina

Michele Zucconi, RN, MSN, CCRN
Administrative Director
Cardiac Care Center Cardiac Catheterization
and Interventional Radiology
Inspira Health Network
Vineland, New Jersey

return to top

2013 AACN Chapter Circle of Excellence

AACN chapters that have made a difference in the healthcare profession and their communities will receive 2013 Circle of Excellence awards.

Excellence in Collaboration

Greater Rochester Area Finger Lakes Chapter
Rochester, New York

Siouxland Chapter
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

South Central Connecticut Chapter
New Haven, Connecticut

Excellence in Educational Programming

Broward County Chapter
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Delmarva Chapter
Salisbury, Maryland

Inland Empire Chapter
Loma Linda, California

Excellence in Leadership Development

Awarded in memory of Sharon Connor, AACN director of membership and chapters from 1985 to 1997, for her advocacy of volunteerism and dedication to the success of chapters.

Broward County Chapter
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Excellence in Promoting the Value of Certification

Greater Johnstown Chapter
Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Houston Gulf Coast Chapter
Houston, Texas

Excellence in Community Education & Public Service

Oklahoma City Area Chapter
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

San Antonio Chapter
San Antonio, Texas

President’s Award for Chapters

Recognition for effectively integrating the theme, Dare To, in activities and programs throughout the year.

Atlanta Chapter
Atlanta, Georgia

Greater East Texas Chapter
Tyler, Texas

Greater Johnstown Chapter
Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Greater Rochester Area Finger Lakes Chapter
Rochester, New York

Greater Twin Cities Area Chapter
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Western New York Chapter
Buffalo, New York

ICU Design Citation

The 2013 ICU Design Citation, an award cosponsored by AACN, the Society of Critical Care Medicine and the American Institute of Architects Academy on Architecture for Health, which recognizes the successful combination of functional ICU design with the humanitarian delivery of care, will be awarded to:

Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

return to top

Your Feedback