2010 AACN Circle of Excellence

Circle of Excellence awards recognize and showcase excellent outcomes in the care of acutely and critically ill patients and their families. The awards program is designed to align with the association’s mission and vision focusing on outcomes responsive to professional and environmental issues in acute and critical care nursing.

AACN would like to acknowledge and thank the following companies for their generous support of the 2010 Circle of Excellence program:


Nominations are evaluated by a panel of volunteer reviewers and rated on the basis of how well the nominees achieved the following criteria:

  • Relentlessly promotes patient-driven excellence
  • Models skilled communication, true collaboration, effective decision making and meaningful recognition
  • Transforms thinking, structures and processes to address challenges and remove barriers to advance patient-driven excellence
  • Furthers AACN’s mission and key initiatives at influential forums
  • Enriches own and other organizations by influencing and mentoring others in achieving excellence
  • Achieves visible results that validate impact of individual leadership contribution to organizational excellence

The following AACN members have been selected to receive 2010 awards and will become permanent members of the AACN Circle of Excellence Society.

Tonya L. Appleby, RN, MSN, CCRN, CEN, CRNP
Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Emergency Department
Good Samaritan Hospital
Baltimore, Maryland
Clinical Faculty, University of Maryland
Baltimore, Maryland

Dorothy M. Beke, RN, MS, CPNP
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Cardiac Intensive Care Unit
Children’s Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

Lisa M. Boghozian, RN, MSN, CCRN
Clinical Nurse Practice Specialist, Adult ICU
Johnson City Medical Center
Johnson City, Tennessee

Christine M. Bowen, RN, MSN, CCRN
Administrative Director, Patient Care Services
Detroit Medical Center – Harper University Hospital
Detroit, Michigan

Vickie E. Custer, MS, RN, CCRN
Nurse Manager - Critical Care, IV/PICC Team and Virtual ICU
VA Medical Center
Denver, Colorado

Mary Beth D’Amico, RN, MSN, APRN, NE-A
Director of Critical Care Services
Peninsula Regional Medical Center
Salisbury, Maryland

Michael Davis, RN, BSN, NE-BC
Clinical Nurse Manager
Surgical Intermediate Care Unit
Baystate Medical Center
Springfield, Massachusetts

Amy K. Doepken, RN, BSN, CCRN
Preceptor Coordinator, Kern Critical Care Unit
Legacy Good Samaritan Medical Center
Portland, Oregon

Carmen Ferrell, MSN, CCRN
Executive Director,
Nursing Critical Care, Telemetry, Med/Surg/Gyn, Enterostomal Therapy
St. Joseph Hospital
Orange, California

Lori D. Fineman, RN, MS
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care
UCSF Children’s Hospital
San Francisco, California

Alison B. Frommelt, RN, BA, CCRN
Staff Nurse – Surgical Intensive Care Unit
Mission Hospital Regional Medical Center
Mission Viejo, California

Elisabeth L. George, RN, PhD, CCRN
Advanced Practice Nurse
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Presbyterian
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Danielle Gregory, RN, BSN, CCRN
Staff Nurse, Cardiac ICU
Shands at University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida

Kiersten N. Henry, MS, ACNP-BC, CCNS, CCRN-CMC
Cardiac and Vascular Nurse Practitioner
Montgomery General Hospital
Olney, Maryland

Kathleen M. Hill, RN, MSN, CCNS-CSC
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Surgical ICU
The Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Susan M. Isaacs, RN, MA, CCRN-CMC
Director of Professional Development
Providence St. Vincent Medical Center
Portland, Oregon

Kristi D. Kimpel, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS
Advanced Practice Nurse
Surgical Trauma/Burn Intensive Care Unit
University of Virginia Health System
Charlottesville, Virginia

Christy Passion, RN, BSN, CCRN
Staff Nurse, Surgical ICU
Queens Medical Center
Honolulu, Hawaii

Janice Prata, RN, CCRN
Staff Nurse, Medical ICU
Christiana Hospital
Newark, Delaware

Robert P. Rynecki, RN, MS, CCRN
Staff Nurse
Chambersburg Hospital
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania

Paula M. Schmidt, RN, MSN
Nurse Manager, ICU and RRT
Providence St. Vincent’s Medical Center
Portland, Oregon

Susan S. Scott, RN, MSN, CCRN
Critical Care Educator, ICU
Baystate Medical Center
Springfield, Massachusetts

Rebecca L. Stamm, MSN, RN, CCNS, CCRN
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Cardiothoracic Surgical ICU
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Anjannette Vickers, RN, BSN
Nurse Manager, Progressive Care
Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, North Carolina

Clareen A. Wiencek, PhD, CNP, ACHPN
Nurse Practitioner, University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Assistant Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, CWRU
Cleveland, Ohio

AACN chapters that have made a difference in the healthcare profession and their communities will receive 2010 Circle of Excellence awards.

Excellence in Chapter Collaboration

Jersey Shoreline Chapter
Howell, New Jersey

Excellence in Chapter Educational Programming

Greater Richmond Area Chapter
Richmond, Virginia

Northwest Chicago Area Chapter
Chicago, Illinois

Sacramento Area Chapter
Rocklin, California

Excellence in Chapter Leadership Development
Awarded in memory of Sharon Connor, AACN director of membership and chapters from 1985 to 1997, for her advocacy of volunteerism and dedication to the success of chapters.

Central Indiana Chapter
Indianapolis, Indiana

Excellence in Promoting the Value of Certification

Greater Portland Chapter
Portland, Oregon

Houston Gulf Coast Chapter
Houston, Texas

Excellence in Chapter Community Education & Public Service 

Southern Maine Chapter
Portland, Maine

Northern Illinois Chapter
Rockford, Illinois

North Central Wisconsin Chapter
Tomahawk, Wisconsin

President’s Award for Chapters
Recognition for effectively integrating the theme, Act With Intention, in activities and programs throughout the year.

Greater Richmond Area Chapter
Richmond, Virginia

Greater Toledo Area Chapter
Toledo, Ohio

Greater Washington Area Chapter
Washington, D.C.

Pee Dee Chapter
Darlington, South Carolina

ICU Design Citation

The 2010 ICU Design Citation, an award cosponsored by AACN, the Society of Critical Care Medicine and the American Institute of Architects, which recognizes the successful combination of functional ICU design with the humanitarian delivery of care, will be awarded to:

Medical Intensive Care Unit
The Christ Hospital
Cincinnati, Ohio


Your Feedback