TRANSITIONS – February 2012

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Nancy Blake, director of critical care services, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, and past AACN board member, served on the task force for “Deliberations and Recommendations of the Pediatric Emergency Mass Critical Care Task Force 6,” the supplement to November 2011’s Pediatric Critical Care Medicine.

Debbie Brinker, clinical instructor, Washington State University College of Nursing, Spokane, and past AACN president, was a member of the steering committee. They helped review and edit this issue.

Raulin Feria, pediatric critical care nurse, Huntington Memorial Hospital, Pasadena, Calif., who recently joined the hospital’s Pediatric ICU Steering Committee and Medication Safety Committee, is awarded level 2 in Huntington’s Clinical Nurse Recognition Program.

Mary Jo Grap — nursing alumni endowed professor, Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) School of Nursing, Richmond, an AACN member since 1977, recipient of the 2011 AACN Flame of Excellence award and its 2009 Distinguished Research Lecturer — receives a VCU Medallion for Endowed Faculty Honors.

Jennifer Huson, nurse practitioner in the Pediatric ICU at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, is named a top national winner of the 2011 Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award, for her exceptional service.

return to top

Ruth Kleinpell — director, Center for Clinical Research, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, professor, Rush University College of Nursing, and recipient of AACN’s first $50,000 Impact Research Grant — was the keynote speaker at “A Call to Action: Implementing Evidence-Based Nursing Practice,” Georgia Health Sciences University, Augusta. Her speech addressed nurse-sensitive outcome indicators.

Dennis Kneeppel, vice president of patient care services and chief nursing officer, Saint Francis Memorial Hospital, San Francisco, is elected secretary-treasurer of the Association of California Nurse Leaders, Sacramento, for 2012-2014.

Myra Lang, patient care manager for intermediate cardiac care, Stanford Hospital and Clinics, Calif., becomes a board member.

The Washingtonian honored Nancy Munro, an acute care nurse practitioner at the National Institutes of Health Clinical Center, Bethesda, Md., and past AACN board member, with its inaugural 2011 Excellence in Nursing Award.

Sheila Reagan, director of Perianesthesia Services, Gaston Memorial Hospital, Gastonia, N.C., is named one of The Great 100 Nurses in North Carolina, a grassroots peer recognition organization established in 1988 and modeled after a Louisiana program to honor the nursing profession.

Angelique Van Sistine, nurse practitioner, joins the Cardiac Center at Mayo Clinic Health System, Eau Claire, Wis. She previously worked in cardiology and the progressive care unit at Sacred Heart Hospital, Eau Claire, Wis.

return to top

Send new entries to

Your Feedback