Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

Diane Byrum, clinical nurse specialist, Presbyterian Hospital Huntersville, N.C., and a member of the AACN Certification Corporation board of directors, receives the Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence from the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), Mount Prospect, Ill.

The award is presented in honor of excellence in clinical practice, education and/or administration in critical care nursing.

Byrum was recognized for her contributions to critical care practice and education, and her history of service to the clinical mission of SCCM — to secure the highest quality of care for all critically ill and injured patients.

Myra Christopher, Kathleen M. Foley chair for pain and palliative care, Center for Practical Bioethics, Kansas City, Mo., and consumer representative, AACN Certification Corporation board of directors, wrote “People With Legitimate Pain Deserve Lives Worth Living,” an opinion editorial published in the April 12 Orlando Sentinel.

Lisa Floeter, critical care nurse, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, receives the Joan Heimler Legacy of Life Scholarship Award, sponsored by the BloodCenter of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.

The annual award is presented to a critical care nurse who “actively supports organ and tissue donation and demonstrates compassionate care for patients and their families,” according to the site.

Ruth Kleinpell, director, Center for Clinical Research, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, professor, Rush University College of Nursing, and recipient of AACN’s first $50,000 Impact Research Grant, is a finalist from the Greater Chicago region in the Advancing and Leading the Profession category of’s 2012 Nursing Excellence Awards program.

Sheryl Leary, clinical nurse specialist, VA San Diego Healthcare System, and a member of both the AACN and AACN Certification Corporation boards of directors, receives the Isabel Hampton Robb Scholarship from Nurses Educational Funds, New York.

return to top

Linda Littlejohns, president and executive director of the Integra Foundation, vice president of corporate clinical development, Integra LifeSciences, Plainsboro, N.J., and an AACN member since 1999, is elected president of the American Association of Neuroscience Nurses, Glenview, Ill.

Peggy McRae, director of outpatient cardiovascular services, Central Maine Heart and Vascular Institute, Lewiston, presented two sessions at the center on “F.A.S.T. Facts on Stroke.”

She included a discussion on the symptoms and actions to take if someone experiences a stroke.

Peter Pronovost, senior vice president for patient safety and quality, and director of the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, has received the American Board of Medical Specialties’ first ABMS Health Care Quality and Patient Safety Award, in recognition of his contributions in the fields of quality and patient safety.

He is credited with developing a checklist protocol, now being implemented in hospitals throughout the U.S., which is designed to prevent deadly bloodstream infections associated with central line catheters.

Modern Healthcare and Modern Physician also honored him as one of the “50 Most Influential Physician Executives in Healthcare” — for the second year in a row. He also received a 2012 GE Healthcare-AACN Pioneering Spirit Award.

The Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association (HPNA), Pittsburgh, presents Kathleen Puntillo — professor emerita and research scientist, University of California, San Francisco, School of Nursing, and a recipient of AACN’s Distinguished Research Lectureship and its Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career — with its HPNA Distinguished Researcher Award, which “recognizes a nurse who has demonstrated longevity and consistency in hospice and palliative research presentations and publication in a variety of peer-reviewed journals,” according to the site.

Ann White, interim dean since last year, is named dean of the College of Nursing & Health Professions, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville.

Previously professor of nursing, assistant dean of nursing and program director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice program, she has worked at the university since 1990.

return to top

Your Feedback