Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

D Magazine, in partnership with the Health Industry Council of the North Texas Region, names Rose Bagh (Intensive Care category), Texas Health Presbyterian Plano, and Kathy Drescher (Cardiology category), Medical City Children’s Hospital, Dallas, recipients of its inaugural Excellence in Nursing Awards.

The Alabama Hospital Association, Montgomery, names Sherry Cole, cardiovascular clinical nurse specialist, Trinity Medical Center, Birmingham, Ala., a statewide “Hospital Hero.”

“The men and women we have honored truly represent the best in healthcare,” says association president J. Michael Horsley in a recent article. “Each of these dedicated individuals views their profession as more than a job; they consider it a calling.”

Peter Holbrook, past president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, Mount Prospect, Ill., retires from his position as chief medical officer, Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, D.C. During his career, he contributed to the development of intensive care as a subspecialty in pediatrics and is nationally known for advancing the field of critical care medicine.

The Emergency Nurses Association (ENA), Des Plaines, Ill., honors Cindy Rentsch, Edward Hospital & Health Services, Naperville, Ill., as a “Recipient of Distinguished Recognition,” part of ENA’s new Department Nurse Leader of the Year Award.

The award was “created in conjunction with the Emergency Medicine Director Award given by Blue Jay Consulting, the Emergency Medicine Foundation, and the American College of Emergency Physicians to recognize and celebrate nurses and physicians with exemplary emergency care collaborative behavior,” the release states.

return to top

Reynaldo Rivera, president of the Philippine Nurses Association of America, received a Special Achievement Award from the University of the East Ramon Magsaysay College of Nursing, Quezon City, Philippines, during the college’s Golden Jubilee. He also received an award for upholding the medical center’s vision and mission by advancing services that are relevant and responsive to education and the practice of health professions.

The Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing (JCEN) presents its JCEN Innovation Award for the journal’s February 2011 article “Showcasing Differences Between Quality Improvement, Evidence-Based Practice, and Research,” authored by Maria Shirey, associate professor of nursing, University of Southern Indiana, Evansville, and immediate past chair of AACN Certification Corporation, Jennifer Embree, chief clinical officer and clinical nurse specialist, St. Vincent Dunn Hospital, Bedford, Ind., and colleagues.

The award recognizes “excellence in writing and evidence of the expansion and/or dissemination of knowledge in the field of nursing continuing education and professional development,” the criteria states.

Diane White, chair, department of nursing and dean, Health Sciences, Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston, Ga., co-wrote “A Nurse Extern Simulation Experience Through an Innovative Hospital-College Partnership,” in the January-February Journal for Nurses in Staff Development.

Karen Wyble, most recently chief operating officer at Heart Hospital of Lafayette, La., is named regional vice president of operations, LHC Group, a national provider of post-acute care services.

return to top

Send new entries to

Your Feedback