Transitions — October 2012

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

Geraldine Bourne, St. Charles Parish Hospital, Luling, La., an AACN member since 1987, is profiled in L’Observateur, and Jo Ellen Craghead, a member since 1979, was celebrated on her hospital’s website, Audrain Medical Center, Mexico, Mo., for consistently maintaining CCRN certification for 30 years.

Jennifer Brugos, a critical care nurse in the cardiac-intensive care unit, Community Memorial Healthcenter, South Hill, Va., receives the hospital’s Alice Tudor Professional Nurse Award in honor of her nursing values and commitment to the profession.
Barbara Chamberlain, an AACN member since 1987, past president of the New Jersey State Nurses Association, Trenton, and most recently program manager for Transforming Care at the Bedside, is appointed to the board of trustees for Widener University, Chester, Pa.

Bernice Coleman, lead heart transplant nurse practitioner, Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute, Los Angeles, and a past recipient of the AACN-GE Healthcare Pioneering Spirit Award, and Yale School of Nursing’s Distinguished Alumna Award, is inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, Washington, D.C.

The approximately 1,800 fellows are leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research.

Dorrie Fontaine, dean, University of Virginia School of Nursing, Charlottesville, and past AACN president, and Pamela Mitchell, interim dean, University of Washington School of Nursing, Seattle, past president of the American Academy of Nursing and a recipient of AACN’s Distinguished Research Lectureship, are members of the inaugural class of nursing deans and senior faculty leaders chosen to participate in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing-Wharton Executive Leadership Program, at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.

Marge Funk, professor, Yale University School of Nursing, New Haven, Conn., and recipient of AACN’s 2011 Distinguished Research Lectureship, is appointed to the board of directors of Healthcare Technology Foundation (HTF), Plymouth Meeting, Pa.

The only nurse on the board, she previously served on the foundation’s advisory board for one year. HTF collaborates closely with the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI), Arlington, Va., an AACN organizational partner, to address alarm fatigue.

HTF, AAMI and ECRI Institute join the efforts of the Food and Drug Administration and The Joint Commission in developing a systematic strategy to address this growing problem, which ECRI named number one among the Top 10 Health Technology Hazards for 2012.

Caryl Goodyear-Bruch, past AACN president, becomes director of professional resources and leadership development for patient care services, Children’s Mercy Hospitals & Clinics, Kansas City, Mo., AACN’s partner in AACN CSI Academy, a nurse leadership training program.

She joined the hospital in 2010 as a senior nurse researcher. In her new position, she is involved with strategic and project planning, consensus building, mentoring and improving patient outcomes.

Maria Shirey, associate professor of nursing, College of Nursing and Health Professions, University of Southern Indiana (USI), Evansville, and past chair of AACN Certification Corporation, receives the 2012 Ildaura Murillo-Rohde Award for Education Excellence, presented by the National Association of Hispanic Nurses, Washington, D.C.

A prolific author and speaker, Shirey teaches in USI’s graduate program, focusing on leadership and management in the Master of Science and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs.

return to top

Your Feedback