TRANSITIONS – September 2012

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

David Bennett, a leader in cardiovascular physiology and monitoring, died in February at the age of 74.

Bennett, a strong advocate for his patients, was most recently emeritus professor of intensive care medicine at St. George’s Hospital, London.

As a leader in British critical care, his major research focused on hemodynamic optimization and sepsis, and he worked to promote critical care as a specialty.

Kimberlie Biever, assistant chief nurse, Joint Trauma System, U.S. Army Institute of Surgical Research, Fort Sam Houston, Texas, completes a one-year Army fellowship in policy analysis and research at the RAND Corp., Santa Monica, Calif.
Melissa Browning, critical care clinical nurse specialist in the surgical ICU, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, receives the Nursing Spectrum 2012 Nursing Excellence Award in the Clinical Nursing, Inpatient category, Greater Chicago.
Pamela Jeffries, associate dean for academic affairs and faculty member at Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Baltimore, was inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), Indianapolis, 2012 International Researcher Hall of Fame. She was honored Aug. 2 at STTI’s research congress in Brisbane, Australia.

The National Institute of Nursing Research, Bethesda, Md., welcomes Ann Knebel as its deputy director. An AACN member since 1981 and an expert in disaster preparedness, she was previously deputy director of the Office of Preparedness Planning, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response.

The American Thoracic Society, New York, has twice given her the Marilyn Hansen Meritorious Nursing Research Award. Knebel succeeds Mary Kerr, dean of the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University, and May L. Wykle endowed professor, who has been a member of the AACN community for many years.

Colleen LeDrew, critical care nurse, Valley Medical Center, Renton, Wash., receives a DAISY Award for her nursing skill and compassion.

The DAISY Award, presented by hospitals who participate in the program, was “established to celebrate the extraordinary compassion nurses provide their patients and families every day,” the website notes.

Theresa Posani, previously an independent consultant, becomes cardiovascular clinical nurse specialist for the Cardiovascular and Thoracic Service Line at the University of Texas Southwestern – St. Paul Hospital, Dallas.
Carol Rauen, an independent clinical nurse specialist and education consultant, frequent speaker at AACN’s National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition, and a member of the AACN Advanced Critical Care and Critical Care Nurse editorial boards, recently presented “PCCN Review Course” at Stanford Hospital & Clinics, Palo Alto, Calif.
Anne Rosenfeld, professor and associate dean for research, University of Arizona College of Nursing, Tucson, and an AACN member since 1975, becomes a member of the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research, the principal advisory board of the National Institute of Nursing Research.

The Institute of Medicine of the National Academies names Marla Salmon — professor of nursing, Public Health, University of Washington School of Nursing, Seattle, and senior visiting fellow at the university’s Evans School of Public Affairs — its 2012-2013 Nurse Scholar in Residence.

The program is “designed to advance the policy engagement of the nurse scholars in the important areas of health policy,” according to an American Academy of Nursing press release.

Denise Thornby, AACN president from 2000-2001, died in July at the age of 58.

As AACN president from 2000-2001, by challenging the AACN community to make waves and acknowledging the courage it takes, she influenced thousands of colleagues across healthcare and changed the face of high acuity and critical care nursing.

Read a tribute to Thornby in September’s AACN Bold Voices and her provocative AACN News columns published from 2000-2001.

return to top


Your Feedback