Transitions: April 2013

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

Paula Agosto, previously assistant vice president of critical care, respiratory and neuro-diagnostic services at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP), is named the hospital’s senior vice president and chief nursing officer. She began her career as a staff nurse at CHOP in 1985 and has since held progressively responsible positions.

Connie Barden, previously clinical nurse specialist in the eICU at Baptist Health South Florida, Miami, becomes the facility’s director of telehealth initiatives.

An AACN past president and recipient of its Flame of Excellence Award, she co-chaired AACN’s Tele-ICU Task Force, a diverse group of experts who compiled the new AACN Tele-ICU Nursing Practice Guidelines. The document serves as a guide to enhance the level of practice and patient outcomes as tele-ICU nursing practice evolves.

The University of Virginia (UVA), Charlottesville, has named a new fund in honor of Suzi Burns, retired nursing professor and former director of UVA’s Professional Nursing Staff Organization Research Program. A past AACN leader and board member, Burns has been an AACN member since 1987 and received an AACN Flame of Excellence Award in 2008.

She has also published extensively on the subjects of weaning and ventilation. The Suzi Burns Clinical Research Fund will “support bedside research projects conducted by UVA Health System nurses,” Virginia Legacy notes.

Martha A.Q. Curley, professor in nursing science at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, Philadelphia, and a nurse scientist in critical care and cardiovascular nursing at Children’s Hospital Boston, receives the Distinguished Investigator Award, the American College of Critical Care Medicine’s highest honor, for her research in the field of pediatric critical care.

She was AACN’s 2012 Distinguished Research Lecturer and participated in development of the AACN Synergy Model for Patient Care, which bases nursing care on the needs of patients and families.

The Daily Record has chosen Martha Hill, dean of Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Baltimore, for its 2013 list of 50 Influential Marylanders, which honors leaders who have made significant contributions in their field.

Deborah Kohn, a clinical nurse educator at Catholic Health Services’ St. Catherine of Siena Medical Center, Smithtown, N.Y., receives the Patrick J. Scollard Award for Leadership, the system’s highest honor.

She has served on the hospital’s staff for more than 30 years and is very active in her community, including training teenagers in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and participating in health fairs.

Liz Rogan has a new position as manager, integration services at ATI Nursing Education, Leawood, Kan., and was recently certified as a CNE (certified nurse educator).

Pam Rudisill, vice president and chief nursing executive, Health Management Associates, Naples, Fla., past member of AACN’s board of directors and past president of the American Organization of Nurse Executives, receives University of North Carolina Charlotte’s Distinguished Nursing Alumni Award, presented by the university’s School of Nursing Alumni Chapter.

Dawn Theohares, a nurse for more than 22 years, becomes the trauma program manager at MedCentral/Mansfield Hospital, Ohio.

return to top

Your Feedback