Transitions: December 2013

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

The American Academy of Nursing names the following women Living Legends for 2013, its highest honor, in recognition of their contributions to nursing and healthcare:
  • Clara Adams-Ender, the Army’s top nurse executive and past recipient of AACN’s Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career
  • Margaret Miles, a pioneer in pediatric nursing who helped found the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Oak Creek, Wis.
  • Jean Watson, a nursing theorist and scholar in caring science, and author of more than 18 books

Wendy Asher, pediatric nurse practitioner, Rapid City (S.D.) Regional Hospital, is recognized in MyTown for maintaining her CCRN certification for 20 years.

Barbara J. Daly, Gertrude Perkins Oliva Professor in Oncology Nursing, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland; clinical ethics director at University Hospitals of Cleveland; an AACN member since 1986; and a past recipient of the GE Healthcare-AACN Pioneering Spirit Award, receives a grant for “Symptom Management and Palliative Care Research in Adults With Advanced Disease,” from the National Institute of Nursing Research, National Institutes of Health.

Rheba de Tornyay, professor emeritus and former dean, University of Washington School of Nursing, Seattle, died in late September at the age of 87.

She led the school to a No. 1 ranking in U.S. News and World Report, and following her retirement, the school’s de Tornyay Center for Healthy Aging was named in her honor.

She was also a founding fellow and first president of the American Academy of Nursing, which has honored her as a Living Legend and with a named development fund.

Dorrie Fontaine, dean and Sadie Heath Cabaniss Professor of Nursing, University of Virginia School of Nursing, Charlottesville, and past AACN president, is appointed to a second five-year term as dean, a position she has held since 2008.

Among her many contributions, she founded the school’s Compassionate Care Initiative, helped establish the Bjoring Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry and raised more than $24 million for the school.

Marge Funk, professor, Yale University School of Nursing, New Haven, Conn., and past recipient of AACN’s Distinguished Research Lectureship, receives the Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing from the Visiting Nurse Association, South Central Connecticut.

Pamela Jeffries, professor and associate dean for academic affairs, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Baltimore, receives a 2013 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Excellence Award from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.

Jennifer Whaley, trauma program manager, Beebe Medical Center, Lewes, Del., is recognized on the center’s website for 20 consecutive years of service as a CCRN. She is also active in statewide programs that promote public safety and accident prevention, and is co-chair of the Delaware Injury Prevention Coalition of 2013.

return to top

Your Feedback