Transitions: March 2013

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

Cristie Dangerfield, a nurse in the Cardiac ICU at the UNC Center for Heart & Vascular Care, Chapel Hill, earns a 2012 School of Medicine Nursing Recognition Award for demonstrating nursing excellence. Among her duties, she is responsible for staff development and new hire orientation.

Barbara Ann Erickson, a prolific lecturer, known for her work in cardiac nursing, and author of the popular “Heart Sounds and Murmurs Across the Lifespan,” died after a recent illness. An AACN member since 1970 and an AACN ambassador, Erickson was a frequent speaker at AACN’s annual National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition, beginning with the first one in 1974.

She received a Flame of Excellence Award in 2012 and was the founding member and first president of the Northeastern Ohio Chapter. A dear friend of AACN, who had a kind and happy spirit, she was a passionate advocate for patients and families.

One of the guestbook entries (linked above on her name) says, in part, “When I first graduated from nursing in 1975, I had the privilege of being mentored by Dr. Erickson. She was a great non-confrontational and patient mentor. She gave all nurses a great foundation as well as inspired all.”

Vernice D. Ferguson, an accomplished nursing leader who was president of the American Academy of Nursing, Washington, D.C., from 1981–1983 and president of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, Indianapolis, from 1985–1987, died at the age of 84 at her home in Washington, D.C.

During Ferguson’s lengthy term as chief nurse of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs she became a friend and champion of AACN’s contributions to nursing and healthcare.

Daniel Inouye, the senior senator from Hawaii, died at the age of 88. The Senate’s second-longest-serving member, he chaired the Senate Committee on Appropriations, the Senate Commerce Committee and the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence.

A loyal friend of AACN, Inouye welcomed association members to serve a health policy fellowship in his Capitol Hill office.

As noted in a statement from the American Nurses Association, Inouye was a “steadfast champion of nursing. We acknowledge his leadership in helping to pass the landmark ‘Nurse Reinvestment Act’ and his commitment to increasing patients’ access to care by removing barriers that prevent advanced practice registered nurses from practicing fully.”

Pamela Jeffries, associate dean for academic affairs, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Baltimore, is named president-elect of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare, Wheaton, Ill., and becomes president in 2014, only the second nurse to hold this position.

Jeffries has served as principal investigator and project director of several major initiatives to extend nursing’s use of high-fidelity clinical simulation technology.

Rose Labriola, previously senior vice president of patient care services at Frederick Regional Health System, Md., becomes associate chief nursing officer at Parkland Health & Hospital System, Dallas.

Kathryn Roberts, clinical nurse specialist in the Pediatric ICU, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, and president of the AACN board of directors, also becomes a clinical assistant professor at Yale School of Nursing, New Haven, Conn.

Yale offers only graduate-degree programs, including a “graduate entry” master’s program for students with a non-nursing degree, as well as specialization in pediatric, adult and family nurse advanced practice, nurse midwives and psychiatric-mental health. The school also offers a master’s program in nursing management, policy and leadership along with PhD and post-master’s DNP programs.

Sue Sendelbach, director of nursing research, Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Minneapolis, and Rachel Zastrow, patient safety liaison manager, Central DuPage Hospital, Winfield, Ill., served on the panel of judges who chose the American Journal of Nursing’s Book of the Year Awards 2012.

Kate W. Thomas, a critical response nurse and ICU bedside nurse at Meridian Park Medical Center, Portland, Ore., is the March of Dimes Critical Care Nurse of the Year (2012) for Oregon.

return to top

Your Feedback