Transitions: November 2013

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

Cheeri Barnhart, nurse manager of the Cardiovascular Care Unit (past recipient of an AACN Beacon Award), Salem Hospital, Ore., receives the hospital’s annual Transformational Leadership Award, which “highlights a staff member who challenges the status quo, promotes creativity and inspires a new vision for how the hospital can improve,” the press release notes.

She also inspired her two daughters to become nurses.

Linda Celia, director of staff development, Hahnemann University Hospital, Philadelphia, and an AACN member since 1992, co-wrote “Successful Implementation of Evidence-based Nursing Practice: The Indispensable Role of Staff Development” for the July/August Journal for Nurses in Professional Development.

Sonya Hardin, previously a professor at University of North Carolina School of Nursing, Charlotte, and a past member of AACN Certification Corporation’s board of directors, becomes a professor at East Carolina University College of Nursing, Greenville.

With Roberta Kaplow, a past board member of both AACN and AACN Certification Corporation and an AACN member since 1981, Hardin wrote “Synergy for Clinical Excellence: The AACN Synergy Model for Patient Care.”

Barbara Hebert, associate professor, Delgado Community College Charity School of Nursing, New Orleans, and an AACN member since 1973, receives the 2013 Seymour Weiss Excellence in Teaching Award, the highest honor Delgado presents to its faculty.

Hebert has taught nursing students for nearly 20 years and is the college’s first nursing faculty member to receive this award.

Pamela Jeffries, professor and associate dean for academic affairs, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Baltimore, presented “Changing the Way We Educate: Workforce Expectations and Changing Healthcare Systems” at Aspire to Leadership, in Dallas, the annual convention of the Association for Nursing Professional Development, Chicago.

Jesse McDonald, nurse educator, Riverside County Regional Medical Center, Moreno Valley, Calif., whose career spans more than 40 years in the areas of critical care, emergency nursing, surgery, general nursing and clinics, is honored as a Notable Nurse by Bill Emmerson, California state senator, and Mike Morrell, California assembly member, during an award ceremony.

Suzanne Prevost, previously associate dean for practice and engagement, University of Kentucky College of Nursing, Lexington; president of Sigma Theta Tau International, Honor Society of Nursing, Indianapolis; past chair of AACN Certification Corporation and an AACN member since 1983, becomes dean of The University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa College of Nursing.

Kathleen Puntillo, professor of nursing, University of California San Francisco School of Nursing, and past recipient of AACN’s Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career, Visionary Leadership Award and Distinguished Research Lectureship, is working on a University of California (UC) system grant to teach nurses how to integrate palliative care into the existing ICU care plan at five UC medical centers.
Stephanie Schulte, registered nurse at Sierra Medical Center, El Paso, Texas, and president-elect of the board of directors of the Texas Association Against Sexual Assault, Austin, is reappointed to the governor’s Crime Victims’ Institute Advisory Council.

Maria Shirey, previously associate professor, University of Indiana College of Nursing and Health Professions, Evansville, and past chair of AACN Certification Corporation, becomes assistant dean, Clinical Affairs and Partnerships; and professor, Department of Community Health, Outcomes and Systems, at The University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing.

She is also serving a two-year term as president of the American Board of Nursing Specialties, Aurora, Ohio.

return to top

Your Feedback