Transitions — December 2014

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community. Please visit for more information about each one

Send new entries to Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

Claudia Barone, professor, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Nursing, Little Rock, and a well-known expert on tobacco cessation, is the first nurse appointed to the Tobacco Products Scientific Advisory Committee of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration.

Elaine Casavant, nurse educator and a retired nurse with more than 40 years of experience in trauma, the emergency department, ICU and the operating room — and a member of AACN since 1994 — joins the People With Parkinson’s Advisory Council, New York.

Sean Clarke, previously a professor and chair in nursing research, McGill University School of Nursing, Montreal, becomes associate dean of the undergraduate program at William F. Connell School of Nursing at Boston College.

Kathleen Dracup — health adjunct professor at University of Technology, Sydney, professor emerita at University of California School of Nursing, San Francisco, founding nurse co-editor of American Journal of Critical Care and recipient of AACN’s Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career — was named a 2014 Living Legend by the American Academy of Nursing (AAN), Washington. Each year, AAN recognizes several fellows as Living Legends, in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to nursing throughout their career.

Sharon Irving, assistant professor of pediatric nursing, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, and an AACN member since 1990, wrote “Nasogastric Tube Placement and Verification in Children: Review of the Current Literature” for June’s Critical Care Nurse and June’s Nutrition in Clinical Practice.

Bernadette Melnyk, associate vice president for health promotion, university chief wellness officer and dean of The Ohio State University College of Nursing, Columbus, is appointed to the National Quality Forum’s Behavioral Health Standing Committee.

Ann O’Sullivan, Dr. Hildagarde Reynolds endowed term professor of primary care nursing, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, Philadelphia, is named one of the top 25 professors of nurse practitioner programs by Nurse Practitioner Schools.

Cynda Hylton Rushton, Anne and George L. Bunting professor of clinical ethics, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Baltimore; an international leader in nursing ethics and palliative care; past chair of AACN’s Ethics Work Group; and recipient of the GE Healthcare-AACN Pioneering Spirit Award, is named a fellow of The Hastings Center, Garrison, New York.

Deborah Shields, nursing faculty at Capital University, Columbus, Ohio, receives the 2014 Holistic Nursing Service Award from the American Holistic Nurses Association, Topeka, Kansas.

Jeanne Widener, associate professor, Marshall University College of Health Professions, Huntington, West Virginia, is recognized in the Huntington News for maintaining CCRN certification for 35 years.

return to top

Your Feedback