Transitions — September 2014

Events in the lives of members and friends in the AACN community

Send new entries to

Honor or remember your colleagues with a gift to AACN at

Dorrie Fontaine, dean and Sadie Heath Cabaniss Professor of Nursing, University of Virginia School of Nursing, Charlottesville, and AACN past president, co-wrote “Conversations About a Good Death,” an editorial in the May 12 Richmond Times-Dispatch.

Janie Heath, previously associate dean for academic programs and Thomas A. Saunders III Endowed Professor of Nursing, University of Virginia School of Nursing, Charlottesville, and past AACN board member, becomes dean of University of Kentucky College of Nursing, Lexington.

Afaf Meleis, Margaret Bond Simon dean of nursing and professor of nursing and sociology, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, Philadelphia, receives the annual Claire M. Fagin Distinguished Researcher Award, for her contributions to nursing scholarship.

Katie Moratti, most recently a critical care nurse at Borgess Medical Center, Kalamazoo, Michigan, now serves as an adult-gerontology acute care nurse practitioner at Borgess Cardiology Group. She earned a master’s in nursing from Walden University, Minneapolis.

Mary Naylor, Marian S. Ware professor in gerontology, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, and past recipient of the GE Healthcare-AACN Pioneering Spirit Award, developed the Transitional Care Model, which TransCare Partners, New Hope, Pennsylvania, is now broadening for use at partnering organizations and other institutions. The model is clinically proven to reduce hospital readmissions and provides substantial savings for hospitals and Medicare.

Robert Piemonte, retired executive director of the National Student Nurses Association, is inducted into the American Nurses Association’s Nursing Hall of Fame, which was established in 1976. Since then 94 nurses have been inducted.

Piemonte was named an American Academy of Nursing Living Legend in 2008. During his distinguished career in nursing, he held elected positions with the New York State Nurses Association and served on the national staff of the American Nurses Association.

Nancy Redeker, professor and director of the Biobehavioral Laboratory at Yale University School of Nursing, Orange, Connecticut, is appointed to the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research, the principal advisory board for the National Institute of Nursing Research, Bethesda, Maryland.

Virginia Rickards, director of admissions, Beebe Healthcare, Lewes, Delaware, and an AACN member since 1981, receives the system’s Advanced Practice Award for Nursing Excellence, which honors recipients for excellent clinical skills, supporting other nurses, collaboration and evidence-based practice.

Barbara Riegel, professor of nursing, Edith Clemmer Steinbright Chair of Gerontology and director of the Center for Biobehavioral Research, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, receives the university’s 2014 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching.

Cynda Hylton Rushton, Anne and George L. Bunting Professor of Clinical Ethics, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, Baltimore, an expert in bioethics and palliative care, past chair of AACN’s Ethics Work Group and past recipient of the GE Healthcare-AACN Pioneering Spirit Award, is celebrated as one of The Daily Record’s Top 100 Women in Maryland.

return to top

Your Feedback