News: AACN’s Vicki Good Honored for Patient Safety Work

Editorial Contact:
Kristie Aylett
AACN Communications
(228) 229-9472

AACN leader recognized among top patient safety experts

Vicki Good, AACN’s president-elect, honored for her ongoing efforts to reduce harm and improve patient safety

ALISO VIEJO, Calif. — June 11, 2013 — Vicki Good, RN, MSN, CENP, president-elect of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) board of directors, was recently named one of the “50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety” by Becker’s Hospital Review, a leading publication for healthcare executives.

The patient safety leaders cited consist of advocates, professors, researchers, administrators and healthcare providers who have won awards, published articles, spoken or led initiatives to reduce harm and ensure safety. They represent national organizations, universities and healthcare organizations.

Good is administrative director of patient safety for CoxHealth in Springfield, Mo., where she conceptualizes and develops various safety programs, including the patient safety, medication safety, employee safety and infection prevention offices.

One of the nation's Top 100 Integrated Healthcare Systems, CoxHealth serves more than 900,000 people in a 25-county service area in southwest Missouri and northwest Arkansas. Its comprehensive array of primary and specialty care includes five hospitals and more than 70 physician clinics in 20 communities.

Good — who will serve as AACN president beginning July 1 — previously held management positions in critical care, patient safety and education at Baylor Health Care System in Dallas and Baylor All Saints Medical Center in Fort Worth, Texas.

She also has supervised students in the adult critical care clinical rotation as adjunct faculty at Texas Christian University (TCU), Fort Worth, where she earned a Bachelor of Science in nursing and is currently a Doctor of Nursing Practice student. She earned a Master of Science in nursing with a nursing leadership concentration from Seattle Pacific University.

She also holds professional membership in the American Organization of Nurse Executives, the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology and the American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety.

She has received many accolades during her career, including the Harris College of Nursing Alumni of the Year award from TCU in 2006, Beta Alpha Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau Excellence in Nursing Practice and Management award, NurseWeek’s Nursing Excellence in Teaching and a Professional Staff Organization Scholarship from the University of Washington, Seattle.

About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses: Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, Calif., the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN joins together the interests of more than 500,000 acute and critical care nurses and claims more than 235 chapters worldwide. The organization’s vision is to create a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution.

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, 101 Columbia, Aliso Viejo, Calif. 92656-4109;
Phone: (949) 362-2000; Fax: (949) 362-2020;;;

Your Feedback