AACN's national office will be closed for a summer pause from July 15-19, 2024.

AACN Honors Quality Improvement Leader Batalden

May 15, 2015

Added to Collection

Paul Batalden to receive AACN Pioneering Spirit Award

Batalden — a champion of interprofessional collaboration and education of healthcare providers —honored for his efforts advocating for quality improvement and patient safety

ALISO VIEJO, Calif. — May 14, 2015  —  The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) will present Paul Batalden, MD, with its AACN Pioneering Spirit Award.

This AACN Visionary Leadership Award recognizes significant contributions that influence high acuity and critical care nursing and relate to the association’s mission, vision and values. The presentation will occur during the 2015 National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition, San Diego, May 18-21.

Batalden is known nationally and internationally as an advocate for continuously improving systems of care in order to provide patients and families with better reliability, safety and overall quality of care.

He is professor emeritus of pediatrics, community and family medicine and the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice at The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire. 

Batalden currently teaches leadership to improve healthcare quality, safety and value at Dartmouth, the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) and the Jönköping Academy for the Improvement of Health and Welfare in Sweden.

In 1991, he served as founding chair of IHI, which is committed to redesigning healthcare into a system without errors, waste, delay and unsustainable costs. Today, he serves as a senior fellow of IHI, which has become an influential force in health and healthcare improvement in the United States and has a rapidly growing footprint in dozens of other nations.

Batalden created the annual Health Professional Educator’s Summer Symposium at Dartmouth, where approximately 60 invited faculty members from schools of nursing, medicine and hospital administration gather to examine issues related to quality, safety, professional practice and the education of tomorrow’s healthcare practitioners. Over the past 20 years, this interprofessional community has developed curricular innovations, research agendas and proposals, publications and more, including the national Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative. 

In addition, he founded the U.S. VA National Quality Scholars program and the IHI Health Professions Educational Collaborative, among other initiatives. He also helped develop the General Competencies of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and the SQUIRE publication guidelines for the improvement of healthcare. In addition, he played an integral role in the creation of the Improvement Science Fellowship Program of The Health Foundation in the U.K. and the Vinnvård Improvement Science Fellowships in Sweden. 

A prolific author and editor, Batalden is a co-author of “Value by Design” and “Quality by Design,” which examine how high-performing clinical microsystems, as implemented by IHI and healthcare organizations nationally and internationally, achieve exceptional quality and value.

Among his numerous awards are the Deming Medal from the American Society for Quality, the Alfred I. duPont Award for Excellence in Children’s Healthcare, the Codman Award from The Joint Commission and the Award of Honor from the American Hospital Association. In 2009, he received the inaugural Leadership Award for Advancing the Scholarship of Health Care Improvement from the Academy for Healthcare Improvement that has subsequently been renamed the Paul Batalden Leadership Award. 

He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the American College of Preventive Medicine. 

Batalden is a graduate of Augsburg College and University of Minnesota Medical School, both located in Minneapolis. 

About the AACN Pioneering Spirit Award: The annual AACN Pioneering Spirit Award recognizes significant contributions that influence high acuity and critical care nursing regionally and nationally, and relate to AACN’s mission, vision and values. Recipients of this Visionary Leadership Award come from business, academia and healthcare, and receive a plaque and $1,000 honorarium at the National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition. Other Visionary Leadership Awards, AACN’s highest honor, include AACN’s Lifetime Member Award, Honorary Member Award and the Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career.

About the National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition: Established in 1974, AACN’s National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition (NTI) represents the world’s largest educational conference and trade show for nurses who care for acutely and critically ill patients and their families. Bedside nurses, nurse educators, nurse managers, clinical nurse specialists and nurse practitioners attend NTI. 

About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses: Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, California, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN joins together the interests of more than 500,000 acute and critical care nurses and claims more than 235 chapters worldwide. The organization’s vision is to create a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution.

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
101 Columbia
Aliso Viejo, CA 92656-4109

Phone: (949) 362-2000
Fax: (949) 362-2020